Sometimes when you think its  going good, a gitch happens and changes all the stakes, we thought over the years it would be fixed, don’t count on that. Business in business, features  are looked upon as a catch, we are told…if only this mistake was not true…..

pentax-picture-perfect

“It says this, but is doing this, who wrote this manual, Fumio Urano?”  The composition using a  Kodak Brownie Fiesta lens mounted on the Pentax k10D

In a correspondence with ricehigh of  ricehigh’s Pentax blog, he suggested to me that,  “I think the problem you face is just about the design limitations of the K10D” and concluded that , “K10D is infamous for inaccurate focusing with various different Pentax lenses, especially when you focus at large apertures with a fast prime”

I wrote:

Dear ricehigh,

Last week I received an email from Pentax’s Imaging USA
product manager, John Carlson, in it he wrote his concerns
over the images I had posted on the blog, and he eluded that
it may be a user error offering Pentax service to see if the
camera indeed had malfunctioned. This has be concerned, I am
careful when ever I focus.

The Pentax K10D camera was set under these conditions

So I did some research to see if the Pentax K10d had
problems over its focusing, and to my astonishment there
were many complains.There is even a chart were you could
calibrated it to see if the lens is not aligned. I really
don’t care. This is not the consumer’s
responsibility. If calibrations are needed to adjust each
lens, Pentax should integrated it as part of  its
menu.

I also read that the focusing screen may be an issue over
manual focusing, there too could have errors. The matter to
me was its removal and cleaning, now this. Then one or two
persons reported that the anti shake switch broke off. I
have had problems with the camera staying in modes after I
have switched it to another, and many users wrote seeking
HELP over something going wrong posted on the internet.

I thought it could be the lens, perhaps the housing was
loose, but if the camera focused correctly, the blur would
be diagonally across the image and the object should still
be in focus. What do you think? I am not a technician.
I was so furious over these reports and literally took the
camera and put it in the trash…(safely of course, I am no
fool)

Since then Pentax has released three or more cameras,
something called the K-X then K-7 whatever. They are using
colour customizing to sell it.  I like the idea of
penlight batteries, its very useful and universal. I also
think that Brands are responsible for their product and the
reputation and loyal buyers like you. With out them, they
will be out of business.

I looked at the Leica  website and was appalled over
its navigation and elitism. Spending $9000 on a camera is
ludicrous with reports such as comparing it with a $98
dollar Kodak easyshare.  I made a parody of the website
by putting on my leather jacket, and going outside and
taking a picture by remote control using my (no offense
Canon Pro 1) I think if a camera supports the remote control
feature, then it should come in the box.

All I want is a camera built to replace the 1976 Canon F1
with the 50mm L lens, where I could photograph, hand held
without flash day and night shots as low as 15 of a second,
film speed 25
. Can any digital camera today can offer this?

” Dear RiceHigh,

> I got so confused over your post, how does pentax manged
> over this flaw? Why would anyone purchase their equipment?
> On another note, you say you own the canon D5 full frame, do
> you really see the difference comparing it with the Pentax?

Yes, the 5D has better IQ (low noise, high image details, high color accuracy),
faster but more accurate AF, more accurate and consistent metering and exposure.”

The Camera industry needs to have an universal standards
over a sensor in resolution the fit industry imaging. How
many cameras do you need to buy really when they produce
them in increments 10 /12/13/14/18/ then 24/ MP and so
forth. What joy do people get? Is there really a difference?

I have forwarded this letter to Pentax, I am not sure what
the terms are over the repair / replacement / I am not
paying a cent. What I can say is that I am disappointed over
what was reported, and what was said of the Pentax K10d in
all its reviews.  The purchase was based on that
premise…..

I hope we can all learn from this, I’ll keep you
posted, it may be the Head of Pentax himself, Fumio Urano,
The giant can’t tie his shoe

Sincerely,

Richard Bolai

Camerablues Richard Bolai copyright ©2009 All Rights Reserved

